Colours of Celestial States

IMG_0881

In her fertile years
a woman is like the moon
mystical and revered
ever changing
sometimes blood-red
never quite sure who of she is
from one day to the next
powerful enough to exert tidal forces
yet locked within the gravitational pull of her obligations

During her perimenopause years
a woman is like the sun
full of golden fire
burning up what has become irrelevant
and with access to enough energy to take her stand
solar flares may disrupt communications
but her passion ignites the blossoming of creativity
everywhere she casts her glow

And in her menopause years
a woman is like a silvery star
dazzling as she dances in the night sky
a point of reference
to those seeking direction
she delights in knowing exactly who she is
sparkling in her seasoned femininity
witness of accumulated wonders
until she eventually transcends
to heavens beyond her wildest imaginings

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bone&silver
    Mar 21, 2017 @ 02:31:16

    Great way of looking at it all, thank you 🙂

    Reply

  2. Deborah Chambers, The Change
    Mar 21, 2017 @ 21:57:27

    Now this I liked very much particularly the way you have expressed creativity. I can so relate to this right now

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Mar 21, 2017 @ 22:36:45

      Thank-you so very much for your Comment. I love that you are speaking out about The Change. There is a great need for women to be informed and to support each other through this.
      I am 44. I had my hysterectomy when I was 36, with one ovary kept in. Perimenopause began when I was 39. Two weeks ago I had to have emergency surgery to remove my remaining ovary. I am using Estrogel, and I feel better than I have in a long time.

      Reply

      • Deborah Chambers, The Change
        Mar 21, 2017 @ 22:44:39

        Good to hear you’re feeling better. Agree we need to talk about perimenopause much more. I’m at a loss as to why we don’t, this is a time when we need support. It’s time to stop thinking its a taboo subject and speak out

  3. TheFeatheredSleep
    Apr 30, 2017 @ 00:17:44

    Gorgeously written

    Reply

Leave a Reply

