Disentangling

image

If my longing to transform them binds me to them
I must let go of that

If my ache for truth to be acknowledged and justice to prevail binds me to them
I must let go of that

If my self-imposed guilt from legalistic religious interpretations binds me to them
I must let go of that

You can drench it in compassion
You can dismantle culpabilities with personality theories
You can compare it to worse atrocities and judge it to be less lethal

But it is poison
it is poison
it is poison to me

And there is no resolution
There never will be

So regardless of what my family may think
regardless of what society may say
regardless of what the Church may impose
I have to walk away

Because when all is said and done
it is poison
it is poison
it is poison to me

Leave a Reply

