Light-Starved: A Seasonal Affective Disorder Poem

000037[1]

Let me bask in your light
the colours in my world have grown dim
the darkness that envelopes me
bleeds inside
slowing me with pain

Let me bask in your light
let me live vicariously through your joy
show me by the way you look at me
how sunlight used to feel

Let me bask in your light
comfort me with assurances
that you can see that the path ahead
is strewn with treasures
pulsing like diamonds on fire

Let me bask in your light
shine it deep inside and search
for the parts of me that I am struggling to access
let your love be a link
from you to my true self
helping me to rediscover who I am
and to shine all the living colours in my light
back to your most precious heart

Leave a Reply

