Empathic in Nature

selfcompassion
I feel everything
everything
with such living intensity

my defenses are minimal

all travels to my core

poignant beauty
can elevate and heal me

while the razor-sharp edges
of shards of malice and destruction
can rip me to shreds
from the inside

but even with the exhaustion
that comes with the cyclical nature of electrical storms
I would still choose to feel far too much
than to be dulled in any way
and minimize the scope
of what my heart could touch

Leave a Reply

