When Your Wings Are Clipped

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Like a bird with clipped wings
I wait in my cage
looking out through the windows
at the wide world before me
my imagination expanding well beyond what I can see
and I wait for someone to notice
to visit me
to care
to delight in what I still can offer
within the confines of my little cage

I’m restless
I want to do something
be something
make a difference
save the world

but I can’t

So I sing my songs
patter around
dream my dreams
and wait for someone
anyone
to think it matters

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adequatelyawkward
    Apr 26, 2015 @ 07:31:29

    You matter ❤️ I love your writing ☺️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

