Wrestling With the Emotions of Where I Am

3
No more ceaselessly wringing my hands
because she won’t try to save her life

No more marinating myself in anguish
because the family dynamics are set in stone

I have loved authentically
(not with a counterfeit love)

I have spoken the truth
with those who were willing to listen

I have made my decisions
and they are good ones

This won’t be the seeping poison for my defeat
but a validating source of my strength

And I am hereby giving myself permission
to hold my head high

Leave a Reply

