Trusting That I Am Beautiful

beautiful-swan-x

 

 
“Jesus I trust in You”
I am still trying to figure out what that means

My parents cursed me
pronounced terrible things over me
lodged them into my brain

But that is not the voice of Jesus
He calls me beautiful
delights in me
and is setting me free

Free from the soundtrack
free from the fear and anxiety
free to unfold as myself

I like His voice better

I like my voice too

So I am trusting that I am beautiful
trusting that He has placed treasures within me
trusting that I have just as much value
as any other human being

And if I trust Jesus
then who am I not to shine?
who am I not to take risks?
who am I not to insist upon the same courtesies
that I bestow upon others?

“Jesus I trust in You”
It’s not what I expected
and it feels so good to come alive

Leave a Reply

