Releasing Their Burdens

desertflower1
“Take up your cross and follow Me” *
and “I have come that they may have life and have it to the full” **
How to reconcile these two?
I have realized that I have taken up other people’s crosses
taken on their guilt, their shame, their burdens, their debts
and carried these in my own body
allowed them to ravage my soul
without any resolution
without any flowers strewn along the path
But He never asked me to do this
So I am laying down their burdens
their drama
and the crowns of thorns that they have fixed to my identity
My own crosses are more than enough
to till the soil
And even though I have not yet ‘arrived’
I am finding that I am able to bask in the incoming light of the Resurrection
and dance and explore and create
trusting Him to feed me
and lead the way
and help me to become more and more myself
as I journey deeper and deeper into Him
where I truly belong

* Luke 9:23
** John 10:10

Leave a Reply

