What I Wish I Could Tell Members of the Church

jesus016

Don’t keep me at arm’s length
with your stoic language
especially at the moment of deepest intimacy
the Communion of hearts and souls and bodies
Don’t force me away
with your incense and perfumed alcohol and chemicals
stealing the life-breath from my aching lungs
Don’t try to put me into boxes and then discard me
when I bleed out from the confines or simply do not fit
like the boxes you construct for God
Don’t give me your coldness or ignore me or argue me away
because my neediness and imperfections
threaten your perfectly calculated comfort zones

Instead

See me
Show me Jesus
That’s all I really want
Show me His Light
Show me that He cares
Show me that He can laugh with me and cry with me and feel my agony and delight
Help me
there is so much that I cannot do on my own
and so much that requires such colossal efforts on my part
you have the power to lift my burdens
Meet me outside
where I am standing looking in
Smash those boxes
release your humanity
release the Spirit
See Jesus in me
and let me engage with Jesus in you

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kez5
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 22:50:47

    What a fantastic post! There is so much truth in your words. I too wish I could say these words to many I have encountered in the church over the years. Being open, honest and ‘real’ can be quite a threat to certain personalities. Here’s to living outside the confines of any boxes anyone may wish to put us in. I’m assured that God never wishes to inhibit and stifle those he loves. Keep up the writing, I really enjoy it!

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Jun 27, 2014 @ 16:05:44

      Thank-you so much for what you wrote! It really means a lot. Sometimes I think that, if we are appalled by people trying to fit us into boxes, imagine how God feels! Also, the universe is in a constant state of expansion. I think that our ideas about God and ourselves should be expanding, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

