No Longer A War Zone

womenart1
my parents waged a war against me
a war to kill my spirit
and for some bizarre reason
we chose my body as the battleground

the culture has waged a war against women
a war to determine our worth
and for some bizarre reason
our bodies have been chosen as the battlegrounds

ENOUGH

I am claiming this body
this extraordinary gift from my Creator
this counter-cultural masterpiece
and I am consecrating it to LOVE

I can translate the languages of Love
through my physicality
celebrate the dignity of others
become, create, restore

and with this body
along with my heart, my mind, and my spirit
I can choose to walk away from
a war zone that insults the truth
and the magnificence
of who I am

NEVER AGAIN

Leave a Reply

