Choosing Not To Drown

preserver1l

The life preserver is very near to you
It floats, multi-coloured and luminescent
There are so many wondrous possibilities
Just waiting for you to grab hold
Your fingertips are tracing the edges…

But you deny that it’s there
Deny that you even need it
Assert that you are flawless
And that life preservers are only for the weak

But I am drowning in your pain
Drowning in your self-destruction
And you don’t even care
It is breaking my heart

So I have to grab hold of my own life preserver
And see where it will take me
I need to consciously draw air into my lungs
Fight for my own life
And hope that someday
You will choose to fight for yours

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melodylowes
    May 16, 2013 @ 16:23:01

    Wow. I can really relate to this. A powerful piece…

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      May 17, 2013 @ 16:48:10

      Thank-you, Melody. I am sorry that you have been going through this, too…

      Reply

      • melodylowes
        May 17, 2013 @ 16:58:15

        I am learning that these hard places are building new things into me – if I let them. Hard lessons…but it is good to be standing in a different place because of them!

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      May 17, 2013 @ 17:30:17

      Melody, I had my first official counseling session on Wednesday (over the phone). I learned that when we carry the pain of other’s too much, then we cannot heal from our own pain. I had never looked at it like that before. The image that came into my mind was of someone trying to save a drowning person, and both of them drowning because of the resistance of the drowning person. I wrote this poem very quickly. Sometimes I like to spend a long time polishing my poems, and sometimes I like to get them out-there and enjoy their messy state.

      Reply

  2. amylong1933
    May 16, 2013 @ 23:52:39

    This is a very moving poem, just wonderful. Keep Writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

