As the Veils Drop

the veils are being removed

the truth is being told

and the children who we once were

are beginning to be heard

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melodylowes
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 00:16:42

    I see by your tags what this is really about – and say SPEAK LOUDLY, now that your have found your vice! I am one of you – and I am finding my voice, too!

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 15:36:56

      Melody, I am so sorry for what you have been through. I have just finished reading Prisoner of Tehran and After Tehran by Marina Nemat. I realize it’s not quite the same thing as what we are talking about, but the books do deal with the effects of trauma in childhood and adolescence. I highly, highly recommend reading them. Anyway, I would like to share with you a quote from pp. 207 – 208 of After Tehran: “Why do we, the human race, make the same mistakes over and over? Why do we torture, abuse, wage wars, and commit acts of cruelty? I can’t say it enough: the only way to stop the cycle of violence is to speak out. As long as victims do not bear witness, their suffering will be forgotten. Children should be encouraged to talk about all that is considered unspeakable”.
      Melody, I am proud of you for finding your voice!

      Reply

      • melodylowes
        Jun 19, 2012 @ 16:19:41

        Thank you! Thirty years of silence is enough..Breaking silence has cost me much – my family included – but in it all, I am finding myself for the first time, and what a thrill it is to find that I am a writer, a poet, a person of worth! I will check out that book when I am strong enough to enter another’s pain without being dragged back into my own – you will know what I mean. I am not there yet. But I have come a LONG WAY! 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement – it means a lot to me!

  2. maureenpowers
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 18:47:12

    Love the poem. I am also learning to speak up about things that are not easy to talk about and make some people uncomfortable.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 15:40:23

      Thank-you, Maureen. I think that one of the things that makes it so difficult to speak up is that we (especially as girls/women) are pressured to be so polite. There are definitely times to be polite, but there are also times when we need to step outside of those boxes and say what needs to be said, regardless of how it will be received. I need to remember this for myself.

      Reply

      • maureenpowers
        Jun 19, 2012 @ 19:41:42

        Well said everyone. Together we are getting the message out there that healing is a journey that our souls choose for this life, to heal and be an example for others to know they can also heal.

  3. familyfunanddysfunction
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 01:02:36

    oh! Very poignant… very relevant…. and very true! I love the picture, I love how it looks like cracks in water… And I love the words in your poem. Yes, the veils ARE being removed. I feel God stripping away so much right now and I’m raw, inside out. And we are still those children we once were, and we will be heard. The truth is being told, and we will be heard. xoxo

    Reply

  4. perceptionoverjudgment
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 15:48:34

    Thank-you, familyfunanddysfunction! Cracks in the water…I really like that! It took me forever to find a picture to go with the poem. To me, the image makes me think of nails clawing at the veil, trying to shred it, to expose what is underneath; and the blue is for sadness and tears.
    For years I felt like the 10th Station of the Cross: when Jesus is stripped of His clothes. I can see how so much has been stripped from you, too, and I know that your emotions are so very raw right now.
    I am very grateful to have you to talk with. We are not afraid to look straight at our past, at all we have been through. And we are not afraid to look at our responses. In many ways our anger and outrage has been a gift.
    The poem is obviously unfinished because I still don’t know how healing unfolds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

