In the Rays of the Revealing


We are
each of us
born onto a battleground
sent tumbling
amidst powers
beyond our understanding
and blinded by
the debris kicked up
in the disorienting struggle

But sometimes
the Light breaks through
infusing us
with strength
illuminating
navigational bearings
revealing that
encoded
within the machinery
of the war zone itself
is the ultimate mission
of the Light
to forge us into saints

Earth is not our home

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ken W. Simpson
    May 23, 2012 @ 02:24:39

    I well composed and constructed poem with a disappointing finale. Undoubtedly there are and have been a few saints, but to suggest . . . ‘of the war zone itself/is the ultimate mission/of the light/to forge us into saints’ is wishful thinking.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      May 23, 2012 @ 02:31:35

      Ken, my personal perspective is that we all have a choice regarding what to with the trauma in our lives: we can allow it to fashion us into better people, or we can become bitter. I don’t think we can become saints without adversity. We need to struggle and overcome. If there is nothing to struggle against, perhaps we would become self-indulgent, and we can never become saints like that.

      I do agree with you in that this world needs many, many more saints. I think we are living in critical times, where our individual and collective choices will have (and are having) profound consequences…

      Thank-you very much for your input. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. kez5
    May 23, 2012 @ 09:44:26

    What a beautiful poem & so true. I particularly like the last line: ‘Earth is not our home’. My life has shown my that earth is a place of growth & learning but it is a transient place. We are destined for far better. Thank you for your thoughtful & sensitive observations – they warm my soul.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      May 24, 2012 @ 17:36:20

      Hi kez5! I think that we can enjoy our time on Earth more when remember, as you said, “the earth is a place of growth & learning but it is a transient place”. It is noble and good to try to better things here, but we need to remember that we do not have the power to make things absolutely perfect. Perfection — and the fullness of joy — comes later. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. familyfunanddysfunction
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 14:46:57

    Awesome poem! the ending gave me chills…. it’s so very true and whenever I struggle with the world’s values, I remember that the more unwelcome I feel here, the more I’m reminded this is not my true home. Just a stop-over on our way…. xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

