Vortex

sucked into the vortex

of swirling insanity

People who I deeply care about have been bullied in their workplaces and in their families.  I have witnessed my loved ones’ self-confidence and sense of who they are become fractured.  Just over a week ago, I realized that I had under-estimated the power that the bullies have been able to wield.  Their actions have had devastating results.

I feel everything intensely.  And, because of my health conditions, I not only feel things in my heart and soul, but also throughout my mind and body.

It has been a constant struggle to hold onto the Light when I feel myself being touched by darkness and confusion.  Like those being bullied, I, too, need to hold onto my sense of self and the codes by which I have chosen to live.

In a previous post, I wrote about a list of words that I mentally go through each morning before I get out of bed.  These words are especially important to me now: fluidity, dancer, creativity, sensual, instinctive, intuitive, inclusivity, fascination, wonder, delight, connection, perception;  perception over judgment.

I cannot stop people from bullying.  I can, however, bring comfort and encouragement to their victims.  And I can choose the values upon which I will base my own actions.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ken W. Simpson
    May 01, 2012 @ 00:23:30

    Bullies are brutes, who can’t be tolerated in our society, whether in school or the workplace. They must be weeded out. People who are victims must be encouraged to complain, and there must be independent tribunals at work, and in schools to deal with bullies. I would include the armed forces, and police.
    There should be legislation, passed by parliament (if there isn’t already) to ensure that bullying be eradicated, and not tolerated in a democratic society.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      May 01, 2012 @ 19:03:54

      Ken W. Simpson, I completely agree with you. Bullying should not be tolerated, among children, or among adults. Regarding the people I wrote about, they have spoken up — multiple times. Unfortunately, the bullying behaviour in the workplaces is surprisingly well-protected, even though numerous people know about it and discuss it. And, regarding bullying among adult family members, this has been going on for many, many years. Change cannot happen if people refuse to acknowledge that there is a problem, and if they refuse to change regardless.

      Reply

      • Ken W. Simpson
        May 01, 2012 @ 22:00:59

        Well you have spoken out. I know The Age newspaper in Melbourne often features cases, and the fact victims can be compensated through the courts. Many of course merely resign, unable to continue working or unwilling to face the courts and the possible publicity – which is understandable. But, as you state. kids can be traumatized early in their lives with
        deleterious side effects and must be protected
        through the school system, and outside school as well, perhaps by volunteer parents groups.
        Thanks publicising this sad situation in our society. Unfortunately there are evil people
        out there who must be dealt with.

  2. mayogirl
    May 02, 2012 @ 16:01:21

    its a good thing that u r speaking about bullying, i think more people should speak, or write about it to create better awareness and stop this menance

    Reply

  3. familyfunanddysfunction
    May 02, 2012 @ 22:20:56

    Well written!!! I love the image of the vortex — that’s what it is, isn’t it? It just pulls you in and it is all-encompassing and powerful and it spins you around and you don’t know up from down anymore…..

    Bullies affect who they bully and also the loved ones of their targets. There is a ripple effect. A very relevant topic to blog about!!! Big hugs to you both!!! xoxo

    Reply

  4. melodylowes
    May 23, 2012 @ 17:08:20

    Life can be pretty tough. It is difficult when we feel things so intensely, and have bodies that absorb the troubles of others so readily. Remember Who wins in the end!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

