In the Waves of Sound & Colour


I like to imagine
that the northern lights
are tonal
with each
subtle hue
and draping wave
emitting
deep
distinctive vibrations
pulsing through
the great expanse
gracing
reverent spectators
with the orchestra
of angels

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dark Landscapes
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 00:44:41

    This is lovely. I’ve always wanted to see (now hear) the Northern Lights.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Apr 22, 2012 @ 00:48:06

      Thank-you, Dark Landscapes! From where I live in Canada, I have only seen a little bit of the northern lights — just some blues and greens across the top of the sky. It is my dream to one day see them in all their glory. Every time I see photos of them, I am amazed that the northern lights are only visual. It seems to me that there should be sound.

      Reply

  2. familyfunanddysfunction
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 01:27:58

    Beautiful poem!! I love your imagery and how you feel the northern lights should have sound. I haven’t seen them before but you have made me really want to now!!

    Reply

  3. Citizen Blogger
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 03:46:20

    The idea of sound with the lights is very cool. My parents lived in Anchorage when I was a child. I remember seeing them, thinking how very lovely they are. Your poem is very much like them. You must go to Alaska and see them. Sometimes they are huge across the sky. Sometimes they are smaller.

    I could describe them like the hem of a gauze skirt on a woman walking down a road. They have a movement something like that. A bit of billowing from time to time. It’s a very beautiful thing.

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:29:20

      Citizen Blogger, I am SO HAPPY that you have been able to see the northern lights! I love your description of them: “like the hem of a gauze skirt on a woman walking down a road…a bit of billowing from time to time…”. That is absolutely beautiful! Thank-you so much for sharing your thoughts. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

