Jesus, I Trust in You

I am absolutely fascinated by Jesus’ Heart, and am very drawn to illustrations that focus on this, such as the Sacred Heart of Jesus and Divine Mercy images.  Divine Mercy pictures usually have the words “Jesus, I Trust in You” printed across the bottom, in the language of the culture.  Many people might automatically understand what these words mean, but that isn’t the case with me.  I know that we are to trust in Jesus’ goodness and mercy.  I thought about it for a while, and concluded that it means that we are to trust in His nature, in the power of what He has done, and in the example that He has patterned for us. I do NOT believe that it means, that if we trust in Him, that nothing bad will ever happen to us.  Jesus tells us that things things indeed will be rough for us while we are on Earth.

But, what does “Jesus, I Trust in You” mean for me, personally? I decided to start writing in an attempt to sort it out, and this is what I came up with:

Even when it seems completely illogical for me to forgive,
may I trust in the example You gave us, and choose to cancel debts.
Jesus, I trust in You.

Even when my heart breaks over the cruelty in this world, and I just want to get off this planet,
may I trust that You have a plan for my life, and that my work here is not yet done.
Jesus, I trust in You.

Even when I know that my expressions of love will not be recognized,
may I trust in the richness of Your abundantly generous nature, and give anyway.
Jesus, I trust in You.

Even when the pain depletes my reserves and it all seems totally pointless,
may I trust that, through the power of Your Cross, You have infused all suffering with meaning.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When Heaven seems merely like some sort of a misty dream,
may I trust that it is real, wild with magnificence, and that You have a deep desire to share it with me.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When my longing to see You and be fully united with You is overwhelming,
may I trust that it is only a fraction of the ache You feel in wanting to be with me forever.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When I look back on all the stupid things I’ve done, and feel embarrassed and exasperated,
may I trust in Your forgiveness, and know that You won’t let anything come between us.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When I see how messed-up I am now, and how frustrated I feel over not being the person I think You want me to be,
may I trust that You love me just as I am, and that You are still in the process of shaping me.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When I am freaking-out over the terrible things that I imagine might happen in the future,
may I trust that You fill all time, and that You will be holding my hand through whatever unfolds.
Jesus, I trust in You.

When I just can’t seem to get over the ways that people have hurt me, and the damage they have caused,
may I trust that this is actually helping me to enter more deeply into Your wounded Heart, where healing can be found.
Jesus, I trust in You.

May I trust in Your love for me, because You were tortured and killed so that I could choose to never be separated from You.
May I trust in Your mercy, knowing that You wish to lavish graces upon everyone I pray for, and just need for me to ask.
May I trust in Your compassion, and remember that it hurts You to see me hurting.
May I trust in Your creativity, which I see exploding everywhere.
May I trust in Your playfulness, displayed especially in animals.
May I trust in Your humour, because, Jesus, You are fun!
May I trust in Your love of surprises, that You delight in bringing me unexpected happiness.
May I trust in Your silence, because even when I can’t feel You, I know that You are there.
May I trust in Your tenderness, and allow myself to snuggle close to Your Heart.
May I trust in Your beauty, radiating especially in Your invention of colours, and in the way I am so drawn to You.
May I trust in Your romance, and truly believe that You are totally in-love with me.

And may this resolution reside in the space between each beating of my heart:
Jesus, I trust in You.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dominoe Toomey
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 17:52:32

    This was so beautiful. Thank you, you expressed this exactly how I feel! I also have spent many hours mulling over those words. Maybe the shortest prayer I know, but somehow the most powerful. It’s so easy to say, but much harder to believe.

    Reply

  2. familyfunanddysfunction
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 02:44:42

    I could relate so much to your words!!! I love what you have written here! I agree, Jesus never told us it would be easy, but He did tell us that He will be by our side. I love this, you have written such a beautiful prayer! I hope you reach many people with this and touch their hearts as you have touched mine. God bless you!!

    Reply

  3. curtis alan marketti
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 08:19:44

    and all my positive energy is going towards you and bryan

    Reply

    • perceptionoverjudgment
      Dec 05, 2012 @ 19:17:25

      Thank-you for your comments, Curtis. I realized when you mentioned someone named Bryan that you have me confused with someone else. I do not believe that you and I have ever had contact before now.

      Reply

  4. paoletta
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 21:24:00

    Thank you!
    Jesus, I trust in You.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

